Vote in the European Border Breaker Awards

Anna Calvi at Field Day 2011 by Peter Corkhill
Anna Calvi at Field Day 2011 by Peter Corkhill

Voting for the Public Choice Award for European Border Breaker Awards (EBBA) winners has now opened, with Swedish House Mafia, Anna Calvi and James Vincent McMorrow among the contenders.

Every year, 10 artists who have enjoyed “border-breaking success” with their first international release in Europe between 1 August 2010 and 31 July 2011 are selected on the basis of record sales and broadcasts and according to votes by European Broadcasting Union (EBU) radio stations and festivals participating in the European Talent Exchange Program (ETEP).

Fans can vote online at the EBBA website until 31 December for their favourite of this year’s winners, who will then receive the Public Choice Award at the EBBA Awards ceremony, which takes place at the Eurosonic Noorderslag festival in Groningen, the Netherlands on 11 January 2012.

One voter will also win a trip to the ceremony.

The full list of EBBA winners for this year is:

Elektro Guzzi (Austria)
Selah Sue (Belgium)
Agnes Obel (Denmark)
Ben l’Oncle Soul (France)
Boy (Germany)
James Vincent McMorrow (Ireland)
Afrojack (Netherlands)
Alexandra Stan (Romania)
Swedish House Mafia (Sweden)
Anna Calvi (UK)

German act The Baseballs won last year’s vote.

Click here to vote for the EBBA Public Choice Award.