The Darkness give Download 2011 setlist hints

The Darkness began warming up for this weekend's Download Festival with their first live show in five years last night (5 June), at Norwich's Waterfront venue.

Opening with a typically flamboyant instrumental flourish, the reunited rockers then went straight into B-side ‘Bareback’, before playing a run of favourites from debut album ‘Permission To Land’, with ‘Black Shuck’, ‘Growing On Me’ and ‘Get Your Hands Off My Woman’ all deployed early on, reports NME.

As the set continued, all of the bands best-known tracks were aired, including ‘Love Is Only A Feeling’, ‘One Way Ticket’ and ‘Friday Night’, along with a smattering of new material.

Signature song ‘I Believe In A Thing Called Love’ closed the show, before an encore of ‘Love On The Rocks With No Ice’ saw singer/guitarist Justin Hawkins, these days sporting Catweazle-esque facial hair, carried around the crowd on the shoulders of a member of security.

The band will now play two more warm-up shows, at the Leamington Spa Assembly tonight (6 June) and Shepherd’s Bush Empire in London on Wednesday night (8 June), before heading to Download, where the band will play before headliners Def Leppard on Friday night (10 June).

System Of A Down and Linkin Park will headline the festival’s other two days.

Download Festival 2011 takes place at Donington Park on 10-12 June.

Tickets are on sale now, priced at £180 for a weekend ticket with five days camping, £170 for a weekend ticket with three days camping and £145 for a weekend-only ticket.

Click here to buy Download Festival Tickets.