Sonic Youth, Aphex Twin headline Primavera

Sonic Youth, Aphex Twin and Bloc Party have been confirmed as headliners for Primavera Sound 2009.

The big three join My Bloody Valentine who were previously announced as bill toppers for the Spanish festival.

A wealth of other acts have also been confirmed including Pulp frontman Jarvis Cocker, The Jayhawks, and Joe Henry.

Shellac, The Black Lips, The Jesus Lizard and Sunn 0))), are set to play alongside Magnolia Electric Co, Phoenix, Sonic Boom Spectrum and Kimya Dawson.

Primavera will welcome the likes of Lemonade, Girls and Sleepy Sun for the very first time this summer together with the traditional mix of Spanish talent with names such as Extraperlo, Veracruz and Cuzo.

Ariel Pink and Marnie Stern were among those confirmed to represent the more experiemental side of things while the electronic and hip-hop contingents will be headed up by the likes of Ghostface Killah, A-Track and a special live set by Squarepusher.

Many more names have been added to the bill alongside previous confirmations which include Spiritualized, Art Brut and Michael Nyman.

Click here for the current full line-up for Primavera Sound.

Estrella Damm Primavera Sound 2009 will take place from 28 – 30 May at the Parc del Forum, Barcelona’s infamous seafront festival site.

Tickets for the festival are now going for £112.75 (incl. booking and transaction fee).

Click here to buy tickets to Estrella Damm Primavera Sound 2009.