Massive Attack to headline Bestival

Bestival has announced two of its headliners and a slew of live acts and DJs as well as new site additions.

German dance pinoneers Kraftwerk will top the bill on the Saturday (12 September), making the festival their only UK festival of 2009, while Bristol’s Massive Attack will headline the Friday (11 September).

Elsewhere synth poppers MGMT, Fleet Foxes and 65 Days Of Static will play live alongside Altern8, Bastila, Bat For Lashes, Bjorn Again and Seasick Steve, who will have to overcome his travel sickness to get across the Isle Of Wight.

Other names on the bill include Chase And Status, dan le sac Vs Scroobius Pip, Ebony Bones and some of Virtual Festivals' picks for 2009 including Florence And The Machine, Golden Silvers and Little Boots.

As predicted on VF DJ Yoda and Passion Pit are on the bill alongside Michael Nyman, who is famed for his film scores like 'The Piano'. Friendly Fires, The Beat, Squarepusher, Frightened Rabbit and Peggy Sue are also on the line-up.

DJs for this year’s event include the highly rated Diplo, Annie Mac, Zane Lowe and reggae OAP DJ Derek. London Elektricty, Rusko, Skream and drum n bass gurus Fabio And Grooverider will also play in September.

Tayo, Buraka Som Sistema, Derrick Carter, A1 Bassline and Major Lazor will also hit the ones and twos along with Gilles Peterson, Huw Stephens and, of course, the festival’s curator Rob Da Bank.

Speaking about today’s announcement Da Bank said: “I keep having to look at the scruffy piece of paper I keep the line up on in my diary to convince myself that we are indeed bringing Kraftwerk to the Isle of Wight.

Haha! Im so bloody happy I could cry but then I realise we’ve also got Massive Attack, MGMT, Seasick Steve, Klaxons, Bat For Lashes … All my favourite live acts and DJs in a field in seven months time in what I can humbly proclaim is our best line-up yet and when you find out who the third headliner is and then the very special guest too you’ll join me wetting ourselves with excitement. Its gonna be out of the world – out of space in fact!”

As previously reported the fancy dress theme will be Outer Space and it will include Blastival, a fiery spectacle that blends pyrotechnical pleasures with street theatre.

There will also be the After Burner, a brand new 360-degree multi-stage arena that will come alive after dark and late into the night. Centred around a 10-metre tower built from jet engine components producing various effects with fire, smoke and water, the heart of the tower is a DJ booth producing the beat for the effects to synchronize to the mayhem!

Bestival 2009 will take place at Robin Hill Country Park, Newport on the Isle Of Wight from 11-13 September.

Tickets are on sale now priced at £140 for the weekend.

Click here to buy Bestival tickets.

The full line-up announcement is as follows:

Live Acts:
65 Days Of Static / Altern8 / Bastila / Bat For Lashes / Bjorn Again / Blindfold / Bloco Electro / Blue Roses / Chase & Status / dan le sac Vs Scroobius Pip / Dub Pistols / Eat Static / Ebony Bones / Efterklang / Fleet Foxes / Florence & The Machine / Free Peace / Friendly Fires / Frightened Rabbit / Fujiya & Miyagi / Future Sound Of London / Golden Silvers / Goldie Lookin’ Chain / Goodbye Stereo / Heartbreak / Hockey / Introducing / It Hugs Back / Joe Gideon & Shark / Kid Carpet / Kitty, Daisy & Lewis / Klaxons / Kraftwerk / Little Boots / Massive Attack / Metronomy / MGMT / Michael Nyman / Napoleon 111rd / Orkestra Del Sol / Passion Pit /  Peggy Sue / Pivot / Pole / Seasick Steve /  Sportsday Megaphone / Squarepusher / The Beat / The Cuban Brothers / The Ghost / VV Brown

DJs / MCs:
A1 Bassline / Alix Perez / Annie Mac Presents / Beardyman / Coley (Luv Jam) / Derrick Carter / Diplo Presents Mad Decent Soundsystem – Boy 8 Bit, Buraka Som Sistema, Major Lazer,  Rusko/ DJ Derek / DJ Yoda / Fabio & Grooverider / Fake Blood / Freemasons / Fear of Theydon / Friction / Gilles Peterson / Huw Stephens / Johnno (Bugged Out) / Krysko / Monsters At Work DJs / Raffertie / Rob da Bank / Sombrero Sound System / Skream / Tayo / Zane Lowe