EBBA winners to play at Eurosonic Noorderslag 2012

James Vincent McMorrow at Latitude 2011 by Al De Perez
James Vincent McMorrow at Latitude 2011 by Al De Perez

Five of the European Border Breakers Award (EBBA) winners, including James Vincent McMorrow and Anna Calvi, will play at the Eurosonic Noorderslag festival following their performances at the awards ceremony itself.

The EBBA Awards will take place during a televised ceremony, presented by Jools Holland, on 11 January, as part of the first day of Eurosonic, which takes place in Groningen in the Netherlands, running until 14 January.

McMorrow, Calvi and three of the ten other nominees, Belah Sue, Boy, and Elektro Guzzi, will stay on to perform at the festival as well.

The EBBAs are handed out by the European Commission to ten European artists who have proven to be successful in crossing borders with their first international release in Europe.

The winners are then put up for the Public Choice Award, which can still be voted on at the EBBA website.

The other five nominees this year are Agnes Obel, Ben L’Oncle Soul, Afrojack, Alexandra Stan and Swedish House Mafia.

Everyone who casts a vote for the winner of the Public Choice Award will be entered into a prize draw to win a trip to the awards ceremony at Eurosonic, where most of the nominees will perform.

Former winners include Adele, Mumford & Sons and Lykke Li.

Eurosonic Noorderslag 2012 tickets have sold out.