Arcitc Monkeys and more for Pukkelpop

Arctic Monkeys have been confirmed among the first names for this summer's Pukkelpop.

The Sheffield four-piece announced their presence at the Belgian festival after ranking highly on the punter's wishlist for this summer.

The creators of such festival anthems as 'I bet you look good on the dancefloor' and 'Fluorescent Adolescent' are set to be joined by German electro-robots Kraftwerk and hip-hoppers extraordinaire N*E*R*D who are set to make a mark on Europe this year.

Also confirmed today, 7 April, are punk legends The Offspring and Anti-Flag as well as Beirut, Vitalic, Wilco and Eric Prydz.

Bon Iver, Dave Clarke, Tocadisco and Phoenix are equally on the list of Pukkelpop revelations alongside Opeth, Martin Solveig (live) and Alter Ego.

Life of Agony, Grooverider & MC ID, Mad Caddies and Kurt Cobain's favourite outfit The Jesus Lizard, who reunite for the summer, complete the list.

Pukkelpop 2009 is set to to take place on the luxury festival site of Kewiet in Hasselt from 20 – 22 August.

Official tickets for the weekender are yet to go on sale. Stay posted with Virtual Festivals Europe for ticket updates as they come in.