European Festival Awards shortlist announced

Festivals from more than 35 countries recognised in major festival awards

European Festival Awards shortlist announced

Photographer: Shirlaine ForrestVirtual Festivals on 11 November 2014

The European Festival Awards was created six years ago to recognise the work promoters, artists and agents do at the hundreds of major music festivals that take place across Europe each year.

The winners will be announced on-stage at the European Festival Awards gala ceremony which returns to crown the opening night of Eurosonic Noorderslag in Groningen, The Netherlands on Wednesday 14 January 2015.

Steve Jenner, Festival Awards co-founder & director, said: “With more festivals from more countries participating in these awards than previously, we were expecting an increase in fan engagement but not to this extent – we are blown away by the response! As well as being a positive indicator of confidence returning to the market, this shows that festivals are becoming more skilled in communicating with their customers, strengthening audience loyalty and leveraging it. It should make for a great party in Groningen this year.

The nominations for the European Festival Awards 2014 are as follows:

Best Major European Festival

Colours of Ostrava (Czech Republic)
Electric Picnic (Ireland)
EXIT Festival (Serbia)
Hurricane & Southside (Germany)
NOS Alive (former Optimus Alive) (Portugal)
Rock am Ring/ Rock Im Park (Germany)
Rock Werchter (Belgium)
Roskilde Festival (Denmark)
Sziget Festival (Hungary)
Tomorrowland (Belgium)
Wacken Open Air (Germany)
Woodstock Festival (Poland)

Last Year’s Winner: EXIT (Serbia)

Best Medium-Sized European Festival

Audioriver (Poland)
Berlin Festival (Germany)
Best Kept Secret (The Netherlands)
Electric Castle Festival (Romania)
Hideout Festival (Croatia)
Lovefest (Serbia)
MasterCard Balaton Sound (Hungary)
OFF Festival Katowice (Poland)
Pohoda Festival (Slovakia)
Sea Dance Festival (Montenegro)
Volt Festival (Hungary)
Way Out West (Sweden)

Last Year’s Winner: Melt! Festival (DE)

Best Small European Festival (Hungary)
Feest in het Park (Belgium)
Festival Tauron Nowa Muzyka (Poland)
Grape Festival (Slovakia)
Happiness Festival (Germany)
Indiependence (Ireland)
Into The Great Wide Open (The Netherlands)
Jazz in the Park (Romania)
PLAI (Romania)
The Garden Festival (Croatia)

Last Year’s Winner: Fusion Festival (Romania)

Best New European Festival

Bergfestival (Austria)
Down The Rabbit Hole (The Netherlands)
Festival The Brave (The Netherlands)
Imaginarium Festival (France)
MS Artville (Germany)
Sea Dance Festival (Montenegro)
Serbia Wonderland Festival (Serbia)
Signal Festival (Czech republic)
Sunscape Festival (Malta)
Your'in (Belgium)

Last Year’s Winner: (Hungary)

Best Indoor Festival

Blues in Hell (Norway)
I Love Techno (Belgium)
I Love Techno (France)
Metal Hammer Paradise (Germany)
Reeperbahn Festival (Germany)
Rolling Stone Weekender (Germany)
Sensation (The Netherlands)
Sonar (Spain)
TiMAF (Romania)
Waves (Austria & Slovakia)

Last Year’s Winner: Metal Hammer Paradise (Germany)

Newcomer Of The Year in association with Eurosonic Noorderslag

Birth of Joy
George Ezra
London Grammar
Mighty Oaks
Milky Chance
Royal Blood

Last Year’s Winner: Imagine dragons (USA)

Best Headliner

Arcade Fire
Arctic Monkeys
Imagine dragons
Jack White
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Pearl Jam
Queens Of The Stone Age
The Black Keys

Last Year’s Winner: Arctic Monkeys (UK)

Festival Anthem of the Year

Arctic Monkeys - R U Mine
Atomic Bomb! - The Atomic Bomb! Band and Special Guests
Black Keys - Lonely Boy
Calvin Harris - Summer
Ellie Goulding - Burn
George Ezra - Budapest
Outkast - Hey Ya
Pharell Williams- Happy
Royal Blood - Come on Over
Stromae - Papaoutai

Last Year’s Winner: Daft Punk – Get Lucky (France)

The following awards are decided purely by our jury of industry experts:

Best European Festival Line-Up

Best Kept Secret (The Netherlands)
Glastonbury (United Kingdom)
Open'er Festival (Poland)
Hurricane/Southside (Germany)
Oya Festival (Norway)
Pinkpop (The Netherlands)
Primavera (Spain) Rock am Ring / Rock im Park (Germany)
Rock Werchter (Belgium)
Sziget (Hungary)

Last Year’s Winner: Berlin Festival (Germany)

Artist’s Favourite European Festival

Glastonbury (United Kingdom)
Hove (Norway)
Oya Festivalen (Norway)
Primavera Sound (Spain)
Pukkelpop (Belgium)
Rock en Seine (France)
Rock Werchter (Belgium)
Slottsfjell (Norway)
Sziget (Hungary)
Way Out West (Sweden)

Last Year’s Winner: Lowlands (Netherlands)

Promoter Of The Year

FKP Scorpio (Germany)
Friendly Fire (The Netherlands)
Live Nation (Belgium)
Metropolis (United Kingdom)
ID&T (Belgium)

Last Year’s Winner: FKP Scorpio (Germany)

The Green Operations Award

Boom (Portugal)
Cabaret Vert (France)
Cambridge Folk Festival (United Kingdom)
Fusion (Germany)
Ilosaarirock (Finland)
Isle Of Wight (United Kingdom)
Maifeld Derby (Germany)
Melt! (Germany)
Mysteryland (The Netherlands)
Northside (Denmark)
Øya Festival (Norway)
Rock Am Ring (Germany)
Roskilde (Denmark)
Shambala (United Kingdom)
We Love Green (France)
Welcome to the Future (The Netherlands)

Last Year’s Winner: Way Out West (Sweden)

Trending on the Web


Hide Search Results

Festival Search

All Festival Tickets

Real Time Web Analytics