AIM Independent Music Awards nominations revealed

Cast your vote for Best Independent Festival

Photographer:Peter Corkhill

Chris Eustace - 28 September 2012

With 11 of the Awards’ categories voted for by an expert panel of judges from across the music industry and a further 3 categories voted for by the public, the Awards honour the abundance of outstanding artistic, label and entrepreneurial talent within the independent music sector. Taking place on October 29th 2012 at The Brewery in Clerkenwell, London, the ceremony will be hosted by BBC Radio stars Huw Stephens and Steve Lamacq.

Meanwhile, festival favourites Enter Shikari, Frank Turner, Alabama Shakes and Madness have picked up multiple nominations, with the first two joining Dub Pistols and The Prodigy in the Best Live Act category.

Adele, Arctic Monkeys, Django Django, Alt-J and Grimes are among the other acts to receive nods this year.

For more information, and details on how to cast your vote, go to  

Here’s a list of the AIM Independent Music Awards Categories and Nominees in full:

Best Independent Festival
In The Woods Festival
Truck Festival
Y Not Festival
Bearded Theory

Best Live Act
The Cribs
Dub Pistols
Enter Shikari
The Prodigy
Frank Turner

Independent Breakthrough Of The Year (in association with 7Digital)
Alabama Shakes 
Alt - J
Django Django

Hardest Working Band Or Artist
Cancer Bats
Enter Shikari
Frank Turner
Skinny Lister

Best Difficult Second Album
Admiral Fallow - Tree Bursts In Snow
First Aid Kit - The Lion's Roar
Speech Debelle - Freedom Of Speech
The Invisible - Rispah
The Skints - Part & Parcel

Independent Album Of The Year (In association with Bird & Bird)
Alabama Shakes - Boys & Girls
Enter Shikari - A Flash Flood Of Colour
Liars - Wixiw
Future Of The Left – The Plot Against Common Sense
Rustie - Glass Swords

Best Small Label (in association with Sound Performance)
Alcopop! Records
Black Butter Records
Pink Mist
Xtra Mile Recordings

Genre Spotlight Award
Broadcaster Ft Peggy Seeger - Folksploitation
Lorn - Ask The Dust
Neil Cowley Trio - The Face Of Mount Molehill
Netsky - 2
Wiley - Evolve Or Be Extinct

Independent Entrepreneur Of The Year (in association with The Orchard)
Alex Di Savoia - Aardvark Records
Chris Goss / Tony Colman / Tom Kelsey - Hospital Records
Louis Barabbas - Debt Records
Sam Dyson - Distiller Records
Simon Raymonde - Bella Union

PPL Award For Most Played Independent Act
Arctic Monkeys
Caro Emerald

Special Catalogue Release Of The Year
Amon Tobin - Amon Tobin
Madness - A Guided Tour Of Madness
Can - The Lost Tapes
The 13th Floor Elevators - Music Of The Spheres
Various Artists - The Original Sound Of Cumbia

Independent Label Of The Year (in association with EDC)
Bella Union
Hospital Records
Ninja Tune

Indie Champion Award 
Olli Dutton - Obscene Strategies
Ian Evans - IME Music
Steve Lamacq – BBC 6music
Katie Parsons - Kerrang!
Shell Zenner - Amazing Radio


Hide Search Results

Festival Search


All Festival Tickets