Festival shortlist announced for AIM Awards

Independent Music Awards announce four shortlisted festivals

Photographer: Sara BowreyChris Swindells on 13 October 2011

Bearded Theory, Belladrum, End Of The Road and Y Not Festival have all been nominated for the 'Golden Welly' award which was voted for by the Virtual Festivals community.

Bestival and Camp Bestival organiser Rob da Bank has been nominated as 'Independent Entrepreneur of the Year' alongside Ruth Daniel (Fat Northerner Records / unConvention), Martin Goldschmidt (Cooking Vinyl) and Julie Weir (Visible Noise / Wiseblood Management).

The winning festival will be announced at the inaugural AIM Independent Music Awards ceremony on Thursday 10 November at Floridita in Soho. Hosted by BBC 6 Music’s Steve Lamacq and Radio 1’s Huw Stephens, the awards will present Bjork with an 'Outstanding Contribution To Music' award.

The full shortlist for all 11 award categories are as follows:

Best Live Act (in association with Sailor Jerry, voted for by readers of The Fly

Bring Me The Horizon (Visible Noise)
Enter Shikari (Ambush Reality)
Frank Turner (Xtra Mile)
Warpaint (Rough Trade)

Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival (in association with AIF and Virtual Festivals)

Bearded Theory 
End of the Road
Y Not Festival

Independent Entrepreneur of the Year (in association with The Orchard)
Rob da Bank (Sunday Best Recordings / Bestival / Camp Bestival / AIF / Radio 1)
Ruth Daniel (Fat Northerner Records / unConvention)
Martin Goldschmidt (Cooking Vinyl)
Julie Weir (Visible Noise / Wiseblood Management)

PPL Award for Most Played Independent Artist

Adele (XL Recordings)
Arctic Monkeys (Domino)
Vampire Weekend (XL Recordings)
The XX (XL Recordings/Young Turks)

Indie Champion 

Tom Robinson, 6Music
Nathan Clark, Brudenell Social Club
John Robb, Louder Than War
John Doran & Luke Turner, The Quietus

Best Small Label (in association with Sound Performance

Ambiguous Records
Naim Edge Records
Smalltown America 
Stolen Recordings 

Hardest Working Band or Artist (in association with Live Nation)
Beardyman (Sunday Best Recordings)
Bring Me The Horizon (Visible Noise)
Frank Turner (Xtra Mile)
Random Hand (Bomber Music)

Innovative Marketing Campaign of the Year 

Ninja Tune - Amon Tobin 'ISAM' campaign
Ninja Tune - 'Ninja Tune XX' campaign
Radar Maker - Frankie & the Heartstrings 'Hunger' campaign
Warp Records - Flying Lotus EP ‘Cosmogramma, Pattern+Grid World, 
Cosmogramma Alt Takes’
Independent Breakthrough of the Year 

Bring Me The Horizon (Visible Noise)
Caro Emerald (Dramatico)
The Horrors (XL Recordings)
SBTRKT (XL Recordings)

Best Difficult Second Album 

'21' - Adele (XL Recordings) 
'Bon Iver' - Bon Iver (4AD)
'Helplessness Blues' - Fleet Foxes (Bella Union)
'Pala' Friendly Fires (XL Recordings)
'Watch Me Dance' - Toddla T (Ninja Tune)
Catalogue Release of the Year (in association with Rovi)

'Ninja Tune XX' - Various Artists - Ninja Tune
'The Wonderful & Frightening World of The Fall / This Nation's Saving Grace (Omnibus Edition)' - The Fall -  - Beggars Group
'Coals To Newcastle' - Orange Juice - Domino
'Matador at 21' - Various Artists - Matador Records

Pioneer Award: Laurence Bell, Domino Recording Company 

Virtual Festivals will be live at the AIM Awards covering all the events on the red carpet and inside the venue as they happen. Follow us on Facebook and Twitter for all the latest news from the AIM Independent Music Awards 2011.


Hide Search Results

Festival Search


All Festival Tickets

Real Time Web Analytics